Postcards from the IMF
Euromoney, is part of the Delinian Group, Delinian Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX, Registered in England & Wales, Company number 00954730
Copyright © Delinian Limited and its affiliated companies 2024
Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

Postcards from the IMF

During the IMF/World Bank meetings in Washington at the end of September, some of the leading names in global finance gathered at the Hay Adams Hotel to witness the presentation of Euromoney’s minister of finance and central bank governor of the year awards.

Euromoney’s chairman Padraic Fallon hosted the event and presented the awards to Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz, Malaysia’s central bank governor, and Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Nigeria’s finance minister.

Euromoney chairman Padraic Fallon with
Youssef Boutros-Ghali, finance minister
of Egypt.

The brains trust of Latin American
supranational borrowing (l-r): Enrique
Garcia, president of CAF; and present
and past treasurers of the IDB, Eloy
Garcia and Carlos Santistevan.

It was a family affair for Okonjo-Iweala.
On a rare visit to Washington, where her
family still resides, she brought along her
father and her husband, whose birthday
coincided with the date of the
Euromoney reception.

Award winners Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala and
Zeti Akhtar Aziz congratulate each other
on their wins. The two became good
friends following the Asian financial crisis
of 1997, when Okonjo-Iweala was a vice
president at the World Bank and Zeti was
initially appointed as acting central bank

Gift this article