The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and Cookies before using this site. Please see our Subscription Terms and Conditions.

All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws. © 2022 Euromoney, a part of the Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC.

Euromoney Awards for Excellence 2020 Latin America winners revealed

BBVA is the big winner in Latin America in this year's Euromoney Awards for Excellence.

BBVA won the award for the best bank in the region, and its freshly rebranded subsidiaries in Argentina and Mexico also took the best bank awards in those jurisdictions.

In the last year, the Spanish-headquartered bank’s efforts to leverage its global digital investment clearly paid off – with the region an increasingly important source of revenues and profits.

BBVA also took the award for the best bank in Latin America for sustainable financing.

“The bank’s ability to deploy its new digital platforms across the region has been a leading source of profitability and efficiency,” the magazine observed.

JPMorgan won the best investment bank for the region, due to combined breadth of the bank’s franchise across the region and the depth of its excellence across the spectrum of investment banking products and services.

“In a highly competitive year, the US bank claims the award because of the unrivalled breadth of its mandates across investment banking products, as well as its dominance in many of the region’s countries,” Euromoney noted.

You have reached premium content. Please log in to continue reading.

Read beyond the headlines with Euromoney

For over 50 years, our readers have looked to Euromoney to stay informed about the issues that matter in the international banking and financial markets. Find out more about our different levels of access below.


Unlimited access to and

Expert comment, long reads and in-depth analysis interviews with senior finance professionals

Access the results of our market-leading annual surveys across core financial services

Access the results of our annual awards, including the world-renowned Awards for Excellence

Your print copy of Euromoney magazine delivered monthly

£73.75 per month

Billed Annually


Unlimited access to and, including our top stories, long reads, expert analysis, and the results of our annual surveys and awards

Sign up to any of our newsletters, curated by our editors


Already a user?

We use cookies to provide a personalized site experience.
By continuing to use & browse the site you agree to our Privacy Policy.
I agree