The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and Cookies before using this site. Please see our Subscription Terms and Conditions.

All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws. © 2022 Euromoney, a part of the Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC.

Previous Finance Minister of the Year award recipients

1981 Turgut Özal of Turkey

1982 Hon Sui Sen of Singapore

1983 Jesús Silva Herzog of Mexico

1984 Paul Keating of Australia
1985 Roger Douglas of New Zealand

1986 James Baker of the United States of America
1987 Edouard Balladur of France

1988 Nigel Lawson of the United Kingdom

1989 J. B. Sumarlin of Indonesia

1990 Philippe Maystadt of Belgium

1991 Carlos Solchaga of Spain

1992 Domingo Cavallo of Argentina

1993 Manmohan Singh of India

1994 Iiro Viinanen of Finland

1995 Roberto de Ocampo of the Philippines

1996 Robert Rubin of the United States of America

1996 Mogens Lykketoft of Denmark
1997 Anatoly Chubais of Russia
1998 Leszek Balcerowicz of Poland
1999 José Ángel Gurría of Mexico

2000 Brigita Schmögnerovà of Slovakia
2001 Shaukat Aziz of Pakistan
2002 Milen Veltchev of Bulgaria
2003 Ibrahim bin Abdulaziz Al-Assaf of Saudi Arabia
2004 Ivan Miklos of Slovakia
2005 Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala of Nigeria
2006 Sri Mulyani Indrawati of Indonesia
2007 Mlađan Dinkić of Serbia
2008 Xie Xuren of China
2009 Jim Flaherty of Canada
2010 Alexei Kudrin of Russia
2011 Wayne Swan of Australia

2012 Cesar Purisima of the Philippines

2013 Tharman Shanmugaratnamn of Singapore

2014 Luis Videgaray of Mexico

2015 Mauricio Cárdenas of Colombia

More information on the Finance Minister of the Year

We use cookies to provide a personalized site experience.
By continuing to use & browse the site you agree to our Privacy Policy.
I agree