The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and Cookies before using this site. Please see our Subscription Terms and Conditions.

All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws. © 2021 Euromoney, a part of the Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC.

Awards for Excellence 2016: Photos

AfE 2016 logo-196 135


 Global awards press release

Africa press release

Asia press release

CEE press release

Latin America press release

Middle East press release

North America press release

Western Europe press release

         Middle East Awards photos      Asia Awards photos

Euromoney names BNP Paribas as the world’s best bank and HSBC the world’s best investment bank for 2016; BBVA’s Francisco González is banker of the year and completes a great night for Europe. 

Euromoney welcomed 600 senior bankers from around the world to the Tower of London on Wednesday to celebrate the 25th anniversary of its Awards for Excellence, the most prestigious awards in global banking. Actor and comedian Rob Brydon was the guest host for the evening. 

About the Awards for Excellence 

The Euromoney Awards for Excellence, launched in 1992 and now in its 25th year, were the first of their kind in the global financial publishing industry. The nature of the banking industry is changing, and this year we have made fundamental changes to the categories in our Awards for Excellence to reflect this. 

The main purposes of these changes are: to move away from awards based on individual product categories where other determinants of status and ability are readily available; to focus on banks/investment banks that can demonstrate an ability to deliver the different parts of their firms to meet clients’ needs and adapt to market and regulatory conditions, and to consider candidates for these awards that might not be global in scale, but are truly world class in the way they are run and in the services they deliver to clients. 

Euromoney’s award decisions are made by a committee of senior journalists, chaired by Euromoney’s editor, following the receipt of detailed submissions from market participants and extensive year-round research into the banking and capital markets in the region by our editors, journalists and research team. Euromoney’s Awards for Excellence cover global categories, best-in-class awards in all regions and the best banks in close to 100 countries around the world. 

Access the results 

Please contact Patrick McCulloch, Euromoney, at +44 289 029 0402 or, subscribe online, or contact our hotline on +44 (0)207 779 8166,

We use cookies to provide a personalized site experience.
By continuing to use & browse the site you agree to our Privacy Policy.
I agree